Me and my books

I am a “fifty-something” man with Cerebral Palsy.  I hold a BA degree from Central Connecticut State University and a MA degree from Southern New Hampshire University.  My two degrees were earned some thirty some-odd years apart.  Interestingly, my two graduations occurred on the same date.  I had a career (one that  I’d love to get back to) with The Travelers Insurance Company for over two decades.

My first experience with writing began in 1994.  From that year through to 2010, I had four monographs on PT boats and related craft for what was known as Squadron/Signal Publications.  My titles with that entity were:

The 1994 version of PT BOATS IN ACTION

VOSPER MTBs IN ACTION

The 2003 version of SCHNELLBOOT IN ACTION (co-authored with David L. Krakow)

110′ WOODEN HULL SUB CHASERS IN ACTION

Note: None of the above titles are “in print” at this time.

In 2010, I signed with Nimble Books, and for them, I wrote the following real books:

U.S. Patrol Torpedo Boats in World War II, 1939-1945

The Regia Marina’s MAS Boats, 1915-1945

Both books are still in print and available from http://www.amazon.com.  Here is where you can buy them:

https://www.amazon.com/Regia-Marinas-MAS-Boats-1915-1945/dp/1608881024/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1534624261&sr=8-6&keywords=T.+GARTH+CONNELLY

But, now, I am an Indie Author.  As one, I have written a novel, an autobiography (of sorts) and a book of poems.

They are:

The Bambi

A man is going through his late father’s estate and finds a unpublished memoir on his father’s computer. The man prints some of the document and reads it. He discovers a lot about his father which he never knew and realizes that his father led a honorable life and had an undying love for his mother. THE BAMBI is the story of an young and dashing naval officer named Tom Clarke. It follows his life from his experiences at a northeastern prep school in the mid-1930s to his experiences at the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland from the mid-1930s to the late-1930s and his experiences in the southwest Pacific during World War II as the skipper of a PT boat.

https://www.amazon.com/Bambi-Mr-T-Garth-Connelly/dp/1517339383/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1534624316&sr=8-1&keywords=T.+GARTH+CONNELLY

The Woman Who Understands: Remembrances of A Walk with An Angel Who Beyond Boundaries

This is an autobiographical look at the author’s two love affairs and his years in college from 1978 to 1983. He offers his thoughts about being a severally disabled man during that time, his view on friendships and he describes how one special girl literally rebuilt his life after his ex-fiancée broke his heart and almost destroyed his dream of getting a college degree.

Pathos: A Collection

A collection of memories and poems, written about a love and about feelings.

This book has also won the Bronze Award in the category of FAVORITE POETRY/MEMOIR OF 2018 …

https://www.amazon.com/Pathos-Collection-Mr-Garth-Connelly/dp/1979984425/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1534628012&sr=8-12&keywords=T.+GARTH+CONNELLY

Now, there is one other book which I’ve written as an Indie Author, and that is this one:

US Coast Guard 83-foot Patrol Cutters in World War II

An overall history of the USCG’s 83-foot patrol cutters during World War II. Period photos, some colored are included, as are builder drawings.

https://www.amazon.com/83-foot-Patrol-Cutters-Connelly-2016-04-03/dp/B01FIZUENO/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&qid=1534629255&sr=8-15&keywords=T.+GARTH+CONNELLY

I also wrote two books related to PT boat model kits and how to detail and build them.  These books are still available on Amazon.  However, since their publication in 2012 and 2013, too many things related to the kits discussed have changed, so I won’t be updating or re-doing these books.  That’s because I want to focus on my personal stories type of books and my novels.

 

2 thoughts on “Me and my books”

  1. Tim Garth Connelly’s books really pull me into the US Navy frame of mind. I spent 26 years in the US Army, therefore learning about the Navy through my High School buddies books has been awesome. While reading Bambi, I felt like I was in a side-bar from Goose and Maverick in Top Gun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment